jump to navigation

Microsoft AJAX.Net V1.0 ??? February 25, 2007

Posted by gcorbin in ASP.NET.
trackback

I’ve been playing with this technology long before the term AJAX was ever coined. Even before the XML DOM came around and gave us XmlHttpRequest, there were ways to accomplish the same effect using iframes. Lately, I’ve been experimenting with MS AJAX.Net and I must admit, its very nice. Many of the details of making Ajax calls are hidden away. All encapsulated in this new control library. I can help but to think that Microsoft may have missed the boat on this one. Google has been offering Ajax type controls for over a year now, and I’ve personally have been using 3rd party controls such as Telerik and Nitobi web controls that have loads of Ajax functionality build in. I guess time will tell how this plays out and what control set will become more dominate on the web. For now, I think I’ll stick with what works for me and let the web figure out the rest.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

